Sean McDermotts

Founded 1961

Co. Monaghan

Roll of Honour

Playing Honours

IFC (1)        2002

IFL (2)        1970; 1978

JFC (5)        1969; 1977; 1981; 1990; 2021

JFL (6)        1967; 1968; 1969; 1976; 1977: 1988?


Reserve Competitions

Paddy Kieran Cup: (3) 1981; 2001; 2008; 2016


Underage Competitions

Minor League (1)  1962

Minor Championship (1) 2018

U16 League Mc Cormack Cup (2) 1988? 1997…?

U15 Lee Bros. Cup (2) 1994, 1998


U13 Mc Grane Cup (2)1994,

U12 (2) 1988???

U10 etc


Other Honours:

All-Ireland Scór Titles(2)

Scor na nÓg… Ceol Uirlise 1994.

Scor Sinseir… Rince Foirne 1998.


Individual Honours

Benny Kieran – Club Person of the Year – 2003.

Seamus Mulligan – Hall of Fame – 2002.

Damien Larkin – Intermediate Player of The Year 2002.

Damien Larkin – Juvenile Player of The Year 1998.

James Mc Mahon Junior player of the Year 1981.

Seamus Mulligan Junior player of the Year 1977


Players from club who represented the county and province at senior level competitively:

Seamus Mulligan, John Freeman Shay Mc Connon, Mickey Mc Mahon, Dermot Lambe, Cormac Connolly, Bernard Connolly, Benny Kieran, Kieran Mulligan, Jimmy Kiely, Damien Larkin, James Coyle, Paraic McGuirk, Niall Kieran


Players who won representative honours.

Seamus Mulligan won an All Ireland Junior Football medal with Monaghan in 1956, John Freeman was also a member of the panel in the early round of this competition but emigration forced him to leave the squad. That same year 18 year old Seamus made history; the first player to play at all available county representative levels at that time Minor, Junior, and Senior. In a long playing career he had the unique distinction of playing along side his son Kieran when the club won the inaugural reserve league (Paddy Kieran Cup) competition in 1981.  Seamus refereed both Senior and Intermediate football championship finals in Monaghan in 1973 and was a member of the national referee’s panel officiating regularly at NFL games. In 2002 his tremendous contribution to Cumann Luthchleas Gael was acknowledged by Monaghan County Committee when he received the prestigious Hall of Fame award.

Shay Mc Connon won an Ulster Junior championship medal in 1961.

Bernard Connolly was a member of the Monaghan Senior football panel who won the Ulster football Championship and Dr Mc Kenna Cup in 1979.

James Coyle was a member of the Monaghan Senior Football panel who won the All Ireland B competion 2004 and also the  Allianz NFL division 2 title 2005

Mark Keogh was a member of the Monaghan Senior Football panel who won the Ulster title in 2013


Other Major milestones in club history:

Under an energetic development committee 7 acres of land were purchased at Drumgarve close to the village of Threemilehouse in December 1973. Spearheaded by club chairman Mickey Mc Mahon over the next five years various fund raising ventures were undertaken as the club set about raising the necessary finance to develop a new playing field.  A rampant Monaghan team who were later to lay a 41 year bogey to rest lifting the Anglo Celt Cup put Fermanagh to the sword on Sunday 8th July 1979 when the club's new playing pitch and dressing rooms were officially opened by Ulster Council President Con Shortt. 

The grounds were names: Phairc Sheáin Mhic Dhiarmada              

Work commenced in August 1987 on the construction of a state of the art sports complex at a cost of £300k, again financed almost entirely from the club’s own fund raising efforts. RTE sports Commentator Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh officially opened the new Complex facility on 19th March 1990 to a packed local audience and invited guests including Ulster Council President Fr Dan Gillogly, Monaghan County Board Chairman Paraic Duffy, as well as chairman and secretaries of all the clubs in the county. Chairman Mc Mahon still at the helm very much the driving force behind this innovative construction.

In 1997 under Chairman Gerry Lynch's watch another 7 acre of land adjacent to the complex was purchased at a cost of €250k. Benny Kieran Gerry's successor coordinated a draw which raised in excess of €500,000, sufficient funds to see major excavation work undertaken and the installation of a new Prunty pitch completed in 2006. The addition of this sand based all weather pitch is of tremendous benefit to the club, insuring all games go ahead as scheduled.


In 2012, covered spectator facilities were errected and in 2016 the club's new dressing room facility adjacent to the new playing pitch was officially opened by Fr Adrian Walsh.  The club held a fundraising draw to secure the finance required to complete the project.


Club Chair:

Seamus Timoney 1961-1962.

Edward Murphy (RIP) 1963–1973.

Mickey Mc Mahon 1974-1991.

Cormac Connolly1992-1996.

Gerry Lynch 1997-2001.

Benny Kieran 2002-2004.

Danny Clerkin 2005-2010

Gerry Lynch 2011

Ciaran McEntee 2012-2014

Sean McElvaney 2015-2021

Brian McPhillips 2022-Present


Club Secretaries:

Eamonn Mulligan.

Henry McCarville.

Pat O’Reilly.

Pat Beagan.

Cyril Kieran.

Cormac Connolly.

Benny Kieran.

Danny Clerkin.  

Ailish McEntee.

Anne Kieran

Sean McEvaney

Derek McMahon

Conor McElvaney

Fergal Ward


Club Presidents/Honorary Members

Seamus Timoney (deceased)

Mickey McMahon

Seamus Mulligan

Fr. Pat McHugh (deceased)

Francie McElvaney (deceased)

Peter McElvaney (deceased)

P.J. Murphy

Patsy Thorton

Brian Sheridan (deceased)

Eamon Coyle

Francie Murphy

Gerry Lynch (deceased)

Minie McEntee

Sean Connolly

Seamus McCormick (deceased)


People who have served as officers of county committee

Fr. Pat Mc Hugh (Vice Chairman)

Ailish Mc Entee (Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Assistant Treasurer)

Brendan Casey (Ulster Council Representative; Assistant Treasurer)


Club Honours

The club has had the honour of hosting the All Ireland Scor Sinsear Finals on three occasions 1991, 1992, and again in 1997

County Scor Award 2015

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play